Skip to content

Interior Architecture program celebrates year with 2020 Virtual Ceremony

Posted by UWSPcps - April 24, 2020 - Academics, Featured, Giving, Interior Architecture, Scholarships

The UW-Stevens Point Division of Interior Architecture recognized its 2019-20 graduates, student scholarship and award winners and donors during a virtual ceremony on Friday, April 24. [Photo Album]

College of Professional Studies Outstanding Students Dean’s Award
1st Year: Gabe Lemke, Olivia Piloni
2nd Year: Claire Allen
3rd Year: Andrew Kluck
4th Year: Megan Schuette

Division Awards for Academic Excellence
1st Year: Ashlyn Kohler, Emma Brantmeier
2nd Year: Khila Stanczyk
3rd Year: Miya Leistekow
4th Year: Halle Laverdure

Mary Ann Baird Interior Architecture
Recipient: Nadine Dragan
Mary Ann Baird, head of the Division of Interior Architecture from 1978-96, established this scholarship upon her retirement from UWSP. She taught at UWSP for 38 years and established this scholarship to assist students interested in semester international study programs.

Patricia C. Kluetz ASID Scholarship
Recipient: Layne Leege
Pat Kluetz, had the unique opportunity to work with talented and creative students who have emerged from our program to become impressive professional interior designers. She continues to be involved in teaching and continuing education programs on campus and has served as a professional liaison to the Division of Interior Architecture ASID Student Chapter.

Agnes A. Jones Undergraduate Home Economics Scholarship
Recipient: Megan Asplin
Agnes Jones was a high school home economics teacher, a supervisor of home economics student teachers at UW-Madison, and home economics department chair at Northern Illinois University before she was appointed as head of home economics at what was then Wisconsin State College-Stevens Point in 1957. Jones and her faculty were innovative creators of programs and during one five-year period received more than half a million federal dollars. She and Bonnie McDonald were early pioneers in the Wisconsin Head Start program.

ASID Student Chapter Scholarship
Recipients: Emily Kroll and Lindsey Massen
The funds for this scholarship were generated through a raffle held at the annual UWSP ASID Student Chapter Banquet for students, alumni, and faculty. The scholarship is awarded to students who have made significant contributions to the ASID Student Chapter.

Jane Wright Abrahamsen Home Economics Scholarship
Recipient: Maly Thao
This scholarship was created to honor the late Jane Wright Abrahamsen, by her husband Martin. Jane was a native of Mauston who received a degree in home economics in 1928 and a bachelor’s degree in home economics education in 1933, both from the Stevens Point Normal School. She then went on to get her master’s degree from UW-Madison in 1936. She then started her professional career by teaching home economics at high schools in Ithica, WI and Ironwood, MI.

Dora Phelps Scholarship
Recipient: Brittani Kasper
This fund was established to provide a scholarship to a part-time student employee in interior architecture, family and consumer sciences or dietetics.

Barbara Inch Non-traditional Scholarship
Recipient: Lindsey Massen
This scholarship was established to help support the costs of a non-traditional women, single parent to attend UWSP.

Bernice Kurzynski Scholarship
Recipient: Claire Allen
Bernice Kurzynski retired from UWSP after 37 years, including serving as the academic department associate in the Division of Interior Architecture. As a UWSP alumna, Bernice was always dedicated to her work and service to the university. Her scholarship was established by IA faculty and staff at the time of her retirement to honor her endless contributions and service to the division.

Natalie & Paul Ciulla Interior Architecture Scholarship
Recipient: Jenna Gajewski
Natalie Ciulla was an alumna and instructor in the Division of Interior Architecture. Her husband Paul was also dedicated to quality design. Natalie’s mother Antonia Nichiporuk with close family friends, Kar-Keat Chong, Ann Fitz, Kathe Julin and Pam Leviton, established a scholarship in their names to support young designers.

Share Our Post

Share this post through social bookmarks:

Related Posts

You may like other posts.